Media Art Histories Award for Contributions to the Field

Media Art Histories Award for Contributions to the Field – Awardee 2023: Christiane Paul

New York scholar, professor and curator Christiane Paul for her highly influential publications on the history of media art in its contemporary interconnectedness and her widely visible curatorial work.

Media Art Histories Award for Contributions to the Field – Awardee 2019: Anne-Marie Duguet

Art Historian and Curator Anne-Marie Duguet for her achievements in curatorial engagement with contemporary artistic production, in-depth historical and aesthetic investigations and teaching on art, aesthetics and technology.

MediaArtHistories Award for Contributions to the Field – Awardee 2017: Werner Nekes

Collector, Scholar and Film Director Werner Nekes for his achievements in collecting, archiving and disseminating graphic and optical objects on the pre-history of film and the history of optical illusionism.

Media Art Histories Award for Contributions to the Field – Inaugural Awardee 2015: Barbara Stafford

Prof. Barbara Maria Stafford for her achievements in imaging arts, optical sciences, and performance technologies.


2025 – MediaArtHistories International Award: Call for Nominations

On the occasion of its 11th Biennial Conference Re:Generate, the Media Art Histories Conference Board is pleased to announce its call for nominations for the Media Art Histories Award for Outstanding Achievement!

The media art histories award is biennially conferred upon an individual scholar working in any language in recognition for their innovative and inspirational contribution to the field of Media Art Histories, sustained development of the global community and research of Media Art, and for scholarly excellence at the highest level.


Previous MediaArtHistories Award winners are:

Prof. Dr. Christiane PAUL
Prof. Dr. Barbara STAFFORD
Prof. Werner NEKES
Prof. Dr. Anne-Marie DUGUET

The ceremony of the 5th Media Art Histories Award will take place at the Re:Generate 2025 Conference on the Histories of Media Art, Science and Technology to be held in May 2025 in Colombia.

The Media Art Histories Board asks for your nominations. Please submit proposals of approximately 500 words describing the nominee’s merit and achievements in scholarship in the histories of the media arts, the arts and science and/or the arts and technology, and/or related fields.

The time for nominations will close on April, 2025.
Please submit your proposals to coordination(at)mediaarthistory.org
A committee of board and non-board members will select the MediaArtHistories Award winner.

Initiated by the Media Art Histories Board: (Steering Committee)

Andreas BROECKMANN (Leuphana Universität, DE)
Andres BURBANO (Universidad de los Andes, CO)
Sean CUBITT (University of Melbourne, AU)
Oliver GRAU (Chair, Soc. for the Histories of Media Art, Science and Technology)
Inge HINTERWALDNER (Karlsruhe Institute of Technology, DE)
Erkki HUHTAMO (University of California, US)
Machiko KUSAHARA (Waseda University, JP)
Katja KWASTEK (Vrije Universiteit Amsterdam, NL)
Gunalan NADARAJAN (Ann Arbor School of Art&Design, US)
Chris SALTER (Zurich University of the Arts, Zurich, CH)
Paul THOMAS (University of New South Wales, AU)

The Media Art Histories Award was initiated by the Media Art Histories Board:

Prof. Dr. Sean CUBITT (Deputy Head of Department & PhD Tutor / Media and Communications / Goldsmiths University of London / UK), Univ.-Prof. Dr. habil. Dr.h.c. Oliver GRAU (Head of Dept & Chair Professor in Image Science / Danube University / AT), Dr. Linda Dalrymple HENDERSON (David Bruton, Jr. Centennial Professor in Art History / Dept of Art + Art History / University of Texas at Austin / US), Dr. Andreas BROECKMANN (Professur Theorie und Geschichte gegenwärtiger Medien, Universität Oldenburg / GER), Prof. Dr. Erkki HUHTAMO (Departments of Design Media Arts, and Film, Television, and Digital Media / University of California Los Angeles / US), Prof. Dr. Douglas KAHN (Professor of Media and Innovation / National Institute of Experimental Arts (NIEA) / University of New South Wales, Sydney / AU),  Prof. Dr. Martin KEMP (Emeritus Professor of the History of Art / Oxford University / UK), Prof. Dr. Machiko KUSAHARA (School of Letters, Arts and Sciences / Waseda University / Tokyo, Japan), Prof. Dr. Tim LENOIR (Kimberly J. Jenkins Chair for New Technologies in Society / Duke University / US), Prof. Dr. Gunalan NADARAJAN (Dean / Stamps School of Art & Design / University of Michigan / US), Prof. Dr. Paul THOMAS (Director / Fine Arts at College of Fine Art / University of New South Wales /AU).