Preliminary Program

See the preliminary program here

RE:SOUND Media Art Histories 2019

The 8th International Conference on the Histories of Media Art, Science and Technology – RE:SOUND – will be hosted by RELATE (Research Laboratory for Art and Technology), Aalborg University and will be held at the CREATE campus, Aalborg, Denmark, August 20-23, 2019 in partnership with the STRUER Sound Art Festival and CATCH – Center for Art & Tech in Elsinor. RE:SOUND will host four days with 10 tracks of paper sessions, panels, workshops, practice-based interventions, exhibitions, performances, poster sessions, a PhD workshop and keynotes. The tracks were generated based on the first call for topics contextualized under the wide frame of media art history and sound. Each track has several smaller thematic sessions for submissions that are chaired by experts in the field. Through the 10 tracks (listed below), RE:SOUND MAH2019 calls for proposals that revisit and (re)investigate, through a variety of prisms and on a multiplicity of trajectories, the ontologies and epistemologies of Media Art History as a field of practice and research. Moreover, there are also specific calls for proposals investigating sound in Media Art + theories + histories + practices..


Based on the first call for topics, the call is now open for individual submissions within the following tracks:


There is a call for full papers for a special issue of the Seismograf Journal, edited by Laura Beloff and Morten Søndergaard as well as the British Computer Society’s eWic. Submission deadline is 15 September. All submissions will be reviewed, double-blind, according to the highest international academic standards. Please follow the instructions in the submission process.

See the publication submission guide here:

Conference Fees and Fee Waivers

Please note that there will be a conference fee payable by all participants and delegates of the conference. There will be four options, full delegate early bird and late; and delegate concession early bird and late (for PhD students and artists with affiliation). It will be possible to apply for a small amount of fee waivers, which are mainly reserved for artists and researchers without affiliation or support (documentation needed), or who are participants in conference events.

Deadline for applying for a fee waiver is (NOTE NEW DEADLINE) 15 February 2019. You apply by sending an email to the conference chairs, containing a max. 300 words letter which clearly states your name and contact info, a short CV, and documentation. Expect notification of decision by beginning of March 2019.

The conference will be complemented by a variety of affiliated events, including STRUER TRACKS - Urban Sound Art Festival, special talks in the B&O Lab, a special track of performances and workshops in the CREATE building, and a Ph.D. workshop at CATCH

Chairs and Organization


  • Main Chair: Morten SØNDERGAARD
  • Co-Chair: Laura BELOFF

Conference Advisory Board:

Jens HAUSER, Jacob WAMBERG, Ryan NOLAN, Geoff COX, Tanya TOFT AG, Dieter DANIELS, Jan THOBEN, Jacob LUND, Camma Juel JEPSEN, Anne Kølbæk IVERSEN, Johanne LØGSTRUP, Jacob ERIKSEN (Sound Studies and Sonic Arts, Berlin University of the Arts), Felix GERLOFF, Sebastian SCHWESINGER, Gabriela Aceves SEPÚLVEDA, Luz Maria SANCHEZ CARDONA (UAM, Mexico), Trace REDDELL, Eduardo ABRANTES, Dr. Rahma KHAZAM, Falk HEINRICH, Elizabeth JOCHUM, Palle DAHLSTEDT, Daniel Cermak SASSENRATH, Magdalena ZDRODOWSKA, Jason van EYK, Liora BELFORD, Dolores STEINMAN, Michelle LEWIS-KING, Anna NACHER, Trace REDELL, Eduardo ABRANTES, Birgit Wandahl BUNDESEN, Anita JENSEN, Jakob JAKOBSEN, Dr. Rahma KHAZAM, Carlos ROSAS, Jeppe UGGERHØJ (Artistic Director House of Music, Aalborg), Jacob KREUTZFELT (Director, Struer Sound Festival), Majken OVERGAARD (Program Chair, CATCH), Florian WEIGL (Curator, V2, Rotterdam), Freya ZINOVIEFF and more TBA.

MediaArtHistory Board (Steering Committee):

Dr. Andreas BROECKMANN, Leuphana Universität, (DE); Dr. Andres BURBANO, Universidad de los Andes, (CO); Prof. Dr. Sean CUBITT, Goldsmiths University (UK); Prof. Dr. Oliver GRAU, Danube University Krems (AT); Prof. Dr. Inge HINTERWALDNER, Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (DE); Prof. Erkki HUHTAMO, UCLA – University of California, LA (US); Machiko KUSAHARA, PhD, Waseda University, (JP); Prof. Dr. Katja KWASTEK, Vrije Universiteit Amsterdam (NL); Prof. Dr. Gunalan NADARAJAN, Ann Arbor Art and Design, University of Michigan (US); Prof. Dr. Chris SALTER, Concordia University and Hexagram, Montreal (CA); Prof. Dr. Paul THOMAS, University of New South Wales (AU)